Portrait Experimentation

After Ring Premiere last week I had the chance to take quick portraits with several acquaintances. They are both dancers modern and ballet styles and took serious thought into what poses and presentations to show to the camera. Emma, pictured here spent half an hour arranging my hands for the portrait of me. You can see the difference in expressions – I’m a little strained trying to hold my posed position while she is much more elegant. Plus the lighting gives me shadowed eyes and a serious look. Overall I felt lucky to have the chance to think about posing with people much more experienced than me, especially in a live dance context. Dancers strike poses, but in a flow from one form to another. How can I capture that?

 

 

Leave a Reply

