There was a honeymoon, but no butterfly

I found the article I was thinking of when I proclaimed my knowledge of early photography. I was thinking of Henry Fox Talbot. According to this article, he was drawing with the aid of a camera lucida when he “saw a refracted image of the Italian landscape superimposed as if by magic on the pages of his sketchbook.” The Italian landscape may have been decorated with butterflies but it’s not explicitly mentioned.

http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/tlbt/hd_tlbt.htm#/slideshow11

Leave a Reply

